Life as a Vestigial Human

9/27/07

It would not be an exaggeration to say that my heart broke today although it’s probably overdramatic. It’s more realistic to say that my spirit broke today. It wasn’t the first time in the last 6 months, but it was the loudest, sharpest pain I have felt in memory. The initial pain in the Spring was dull, numbed by incredulity and I awoke from it slowly so it was a drawn out awakening and I had time to adjust. Let’s call that one a really slow, ripping off of the fingernails. Today , there was a barrage of words, a loud crack and realization hit me. Hard. And it hurts.

Leave a Reply

